Home/Who We Are
Who We Are 2017-05-12T09:08:37+00:00

Who We Are

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Foundation was established in 1966 and is the only charitable organization devoted exclusively to promoting nutrition and dietetics. The Foundation exists as the philanthropic arm of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Read the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics article “Advancing the Dietetics Profession through the Foundation’s Philanthropy” to learn more about the history of the Foundation.

The Foundation’s Mission

Advancing public health and nutrition utilizing the expertise of Registered Dietitian Nutritionists.

The Foundation’s Vision

We All Eat Right.

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Foundation Board of Directors

Foundation Staff Contact Information

Chief Operating Officer, Academy Of Nutrition and Dietetics
Executive Director, Academy Foundation
Mary Beth Whalen
800/877-1600, Ext. 4820
mwhalen@eatright.org

Senior Director
Susie Burns
800/877-1600, Ext. 4752
sburns@eatright.org

Development Director
Beth Labrador
800/877-1600, Ext. 4821
blabrador@eatright.org

Chief Global Nutrition Strategy Officer
Katie Brown, EdD, RDN, LD
800/ 877-1600 Ext. 1779
kbrown@eatright.org

Foundation Manager
Paul Slomski
800/877-1600, Ext. 1746
pslomski@eatright.org

Project Manager for The Second Century
Nicci Brown, MS, RDN, CD
800/877-1600, Ext. 1748
nbrown@eatright.org

Executive Assistant
Martha Ontiveros
800/877-1600, Ext. 4773
montiveros@eatright.org

Foundation Coordinator
Deneen Taylor
800/877-1600, Ext. 4767
dtaylor@eatright.org

Administrative Assistant
Stacy Chassagne
800/877-1600, Ext. 4889
schassagne@eatright.org

Governance

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Foundation is governed by a 13-member board of directors that includes the President-Elect, Financial Officer and CEO of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics as well as up to five public members. Download the Foundation Policy Manual and A Donor Bill of Rights and Privacy Policy.

Nominating Process

The selection process for the Foundation Board is completed by the Academy Foundation Nominating Committee. Read more about the Foundation Board of Directors nominating process.

Operating Budget

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Foundation manages nearly $23 million in restricted funds for specific scholarships, awards, research, and public awareness initiatives with defined criteria. However, dollars are needed annually to support the Foundation’s innovative initiatives, implement programs, operations and sustain the mission of advancing public health and nutrition utilizing the expertise of RDNs. Additional financial information can be found at the Academy Foundation’s Charity Navigator page. Download the audit financial report and 990 form for FY2016.